Jamiroquai Keyboardist Matt Johnson Releases New Album Via PX Records 


*7-track LP includes a mix of original compositions alongside fresh versions of tracks by Roy Ayers and Lonnie Liston Smith*

**Two new tracks – ‘Interstellar Love’ and ‘Laluna’ – are out now**


“One of the most talented and prolific keyboard players of the last 20 years”

Sound On Sound 


Album Release Date: 27th October 2023 











As a long-standing member of multi-million-selling soul-funk outfit Jamiroquai, the UK keyboardist, producer and composer Matt Johnson has made a name for himself as one of the leading instrumentalists on the international scene, regularly performing to huge crowds on some of the world’s most prestigious stages. Also a much revered solo artist, Johnson released his debut solo album With The Music in 2020 and it is announced today that he will release his first ever live album on the PX Records label on October 27th 2023. Featuring a selection of original compositions alongside compelling covers of tracks by Johnson’s musical heroes including Lonnie Liston Smith and Roy Ayers, the 7-track album was recorded at PizzaExpress Jazz Club in Soho in November last year and is the fifth release on the newly launched PX Records label, set up earlier this year to release albums from new and established stars of the jazz and soul scene alongside a selection of music from PizzaExpress Live’s extensive archive of live recordings.



Alongside Johnson’s work as the keyboard player for Jamiroquai, which has seen him co-write much of the band’s output, he has recorded as a session player with an array of artists across many genres including Duffy, Ashanti, JP Cooper, Jax Jones, SG Lewis, Purple Disco Machine, Newton Falkner, Will Young and many more.

Matt Johnson At PizzaExpress Live In London is out on October 27th, pre-order HERE. Vinyl will be made available on November 24th.

Track list:

  1. Our Time is Coming
  2. Expansions
  3. Laluna
  4. Goddess
  5. Venus Rising
  6. Interstellar Love
  7. With The Music

Running in conjunction with its live music arm PizzaExpress Live, PX Records will release a selection of live albums recorded across its venues – PizzaExpress Live in Holborn, the historic PizzaExpress Jazz Club in Soho, and The Pheasantry in Chelsea – which will feature performances from a broad mix of established artists and the very best emerging talent from across the worlds of jazz, soul, blues and beyond.  Matt Johnson At PizzaExpress Live In London follows releases from master US saxophonist and mainstay of the international jazz scene Scott Hamilton, incendiary UK soul outfit Mamas Gun, genre-blurring multi-instrumentalist and producer edbl, and one of the most hotly-tipped new bands on the UK scene Native Dancer. In addition, the label will release a series of legacy recordings sourced from PizzaExpress Live’s extensive archive dating back over 45 years and featuring previously unreleased performances from some of the legendary acts to have graced its stage.

About Author

Martin Moseley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.