Announce UK and European tour for November and December 2023 with a London show at KOKO on 14 December

Off Planet, out now via Because Music – stream / purchase it HERE

Photo Credit Sequoia Ziff

The band’s most accomplished and ambitious record to date – Uncut: 8/10

“Sprawling, eclectic and ear-pleasing fifth”The Arts Desk: 4*

“there are 21 tracks in total, but none overstay their welcome” – The Scottish Daily Express: 4*

“an eminently danceable double album bursting with the quartet’s signature sonic diversity” The Scotsman: 4*

“A rewarding listen”Record Collector: 4*

“An experimental musical odyssey” – NARC 

“an opportunity to dive into Django Django’s musical subconscious and see them push beyond genre restrictions” – The Vinyl Factory

summer-ready fun” – The List

“On tracks like Don’t That Touch Dial and Complete Me, Django Django have provided some of their best work to date” Music OMH

“Endlessly enjoyable to listen to… very ambitious, both conceptually and musically” – Vinyl Rewind

Following an exceptional live show opening up Christine and the Queens’ Meltdown Festival at The Royal Festival Hall and an instore tour in support of the release of their critically acclaimed 21 track album, Off PlanetDjango Django today announce a headline UK and European tour for this winter.

The tour will see the UK four-piece take their outstanding live show to Berlin, Amsterdam and Paris in late November, before returning to the UK and Ireland for dates in Bristol, Edinburgh, Manchester, London’s KOKO on Thursday 14th December and culminating in Dublin. Tickets are available for pre-sale from Thursday 29th June and are on general sale on Friday 30 June.

About the tour, the band said:

It’s been a long time coming, but we’re really excited to announce our first headline tour in 5 years!!! We’re gonna be coming through Berlin, Amsterdam and Paris then all across the UK & Ireland and can’t wait to play you stuff from the new album as well as old classics from along the way. Hopefully see there. Love DD x

See below for the full tour routing with new shows in bold, and click HERE for tickets.

21/07 – Bluedot Festival, UK @ Jodrell Bank
22/07 – Standon, UK @ Standon Calling
29/07 – Low Festival, Spain
30/09 – Pambula Beach, AUS @ Wanderer Festival
01/10 – Sydney, AUS @ Factory Theatre
04/10 – Brisbane, AUS @ The Triffid
06/10 – Melbourne, AUS @ Corner Hotel
21/11 – Berlin, Germany @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
22/11 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso
23/11 – Paris, France @ Trabendo
10/12 – Bristol, UK @ SWX
12/12 – Edinburgh, Scotland @ Liquid Rooms
13/12 – Manchester, UK @ New Century
14/12 – London, UK @ KOKO
16/12 – Dublin, Ireland @ Button Factory

Off Planet, the band’s fifth full-length studio album, is out now via Because Music (stream/ purchase it here.) Released in four parts, each representing a different “planet”, Off Planet is the biggest, boldest, and most varied statement the band have made, with a cavalcade of mainstream and underground stars – Self Esteem, Jack Peñate, Stealing Sheep, Toya Delazy and many more, all of them either friends of the band or personally sought out by Dave – bringing entirely new creative angles into play. Off Planet was conceptualised by Django Django co-founder and producer Dave Maclean as “a way to go beyond”, to bring new voices, new rhythms, new experimentation into play, and effectively to deconstruct the band’s identity. From bluesy pop and Middle Eastern cabaret goth to Afro acid and piano rave, to call it kaleidoscopic is putting it mildly. Despite at times not sounding like anything on their previous releases, Off Planet is very much still recognisably Django Django.

The album was described by Uncut (8/10) as “their most accomplished and ambitious record to date”, by The Arts Desk (4*) as “sprawling, eclectic and ear-pleasing” and Record Collector (4*) as “a rewarding listen”.

Off Planet features multiple standout singles including the BBC Radio 6 Music A-Listed 90s dance-pop explosion, “Complete Me” ft. Self Esteem, the genre-bending “No Time” ft. Jack Peñate, the futuristic club track “Don’t Touch That Dial” ft. Yuuko plus the trance-inducing dance anthem, “Slipstream”.

Off Planet album art

Off Planet – full album
Out now via Because Music
Purchase / stream here

Full album tracklist:

  1. Wishbone
  2. Complete Me ft. Self Esteem
  3. Osaka
  4. Hands High ft Refound*
  5. Lunar Vibrations ft Isabelle Woodhouse
  6. Don’t Touch That Dial ft. Yuuko
  7. Back to Back ft. Patience
  8. Squid Inc
  9. Come Down
  10. Golden Cross
  11. No Time ft. Jack Penate
  12. A New Way Through
  13. Galaxy Mood ft. Toya Delazy
  14. The Oh Zone
  15. Dead Machine ft. Stealing Sheep
  16. Dumb Drum
  17. Fluxus
  18. Slipstream
  19. Who You Know ft. Bernardo
  20. Black Cadillac
  21. Gazelle
About Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.